July 22, 2012

Mardi Gras Indian Hall of Fame 2012 Honorees

Interview with Big Chief Darryl Montana & Joyce Montana
Tremé 200: Bicentennial 1812 - 2012

Crystal Feather: Big Chief Darryl Montana, Yellow Pocahontas

Queens' Choice: Big Queen Pauline "Ree" Johnson, Creole Wild West

Community Supporter Award: Luther Gray, Side-by-Side

Cultural Preservationist Award:  Divine Prince Ty Enmecca

Legal Eagle Award: National Lawyers Guild Legal Observers

Capturing the Spirit Award: New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival,
Curation and production of the Mardi Gras Indian Pavilion at the 2012 Jazzfest

Capturing the Flash Award:  Kichea Burt

Scribe Award: Vincent Sylvain, New Orleans Agenda

Cultural Documentation Award: John McCusker and Katy Reckdahl, New Orleans Times-Picayune

Drumbeat Award: Wesley Phillips, Spirit of Fi-Yi-Yi, Mandingo Warriors

It's A Family Affair Award: This year we recognize and celebrate the contributions of the McFadden, Dollis, Casby, and Banister families

Lifetime Achievement Award for Music: Lionel Paul "Uncle Lionel" Batiste
(awarded prior to his death in July 2012)

Congratulations to our 2012 Honorees!

Please join us 3:00 - 4:30 pm on Sunday 29 July at Ashe Cultural Arts Center (1712 Oretha Castle Haley Boulevard) for the 14th Annual Mardi Gras Indian Hall of Fame Memorial, Awards, and Induction Ceremony.

No comments: